Home Page by K2 Home Page by JSN PageBuilder
See other templatesSee other templates

Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal

Prakash Singh Badal Prakash Singh Badal Chief Minister of Punjab

Parkash Singh Badal from Akali Dal is the current Chief Minister of Punjab, serving his fourth term in the position since 2007. He was President of the Akali Dal from 1996 to 2008.

Badal was born into a family of landowning farmers in what is now western Punjab state and earned a B.A. degree from Forman Christian College in Lahore (now in Pakistan).

His first foray into politics was in 1947 when he was elected the leader in his village. In 1957 he was elected to the Punjab legislative assembly as a member of the Indian National Congress (Congress Party). He left the party a few years later over differences with the chief minister of Punjab and joined the SAD.


He started his political career in 1947. He was Sarpanch of the village Badal and later Chairman of Block Samiti, Lambi before rising into Punjab politics. He was elected to Punjab Vidhan Sabha in 1957 for the first time.[8] He was re-elected in 1969, serving as Minister for Community Development, Panchayati Raj, Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries.[8] He was Leader of the Opposition in 1972, 1980 and 2002. He has been elected in Vidhan Sabha for a total of 10 times, in 1957 and in each election since 1969, except for the February 1992 election, in which he led a boycott of state elections by the Akalis.He was a union minister in Prime Minister Morarji Desai's government in 1977, serving as Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation.

Name Sardar Parkash Singh Badal
Father's Name: Late Sardar Raghuraj Singh
Date of Birth: 8/12/1927
Place: Village Abul Khurana(Faridkot)
Marital Status: Married
Spouse Name: Late Smt. Surinder Kaur
Qualification: B.A.
Occupation: Politics and Agriculture.
Fields of Interest: Social Service.
Club: Athletics and Badminton.
Travel Abroad: America, Japan, Canada, UK and West Germany.
Parliament Service: Entered politics in 1947 and elected MLA for the Ninth time; Remained Member of Parliament; Union Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation in the Govt. headed by Late Shri Morarji Desai; Leader of Opposition in Punjab Vidhan Sabha in 1972, 1980 and 2002.
Permanent Address: VPO Badal, Distt. Mukatsar Sahib.
Present Address : House No:45, Sec-2, Chandigarh
Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Login to post comments

More in this category:

Punjabi Popular Videos

Quick Poll

Joomla forms builder by JoomlaShine


No cities match your search query