Home Page by K2 Home Page by JSN PageBuilder
See other templatesSee other templates

There are total 13 lok sabha seats (parliamentary constituency) in Punjab and elected representative from each seat is called as MP or Member of Parliament. In Punjab, each lok sabha constituency has 9 assembly constituencies (vidhan sabha halke) in it and there are total 117 seats in Punjab Vidhan Sabha.The general elections in India for lok sabha seats are held after every 5 years and last elections were held in 2014. In the last elections held in 2014, the number of MPs from each party is given below:

Manmohan Singh

Our 13th and present Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh (born on September 26th 1932) is a prominent economist and the only Prime Minister of our country after Jawarharlal Nehru to take up the power after successful completion of five-year full term and also the first Sikh person to hold this honorable chair.

Punjab Politics is dominated by mainly two parties.
One is Shiromni Akali Dal (Badal) and second is Indian National COngress Party.Other prominent party is Bahujan Samaj Party especially in Doaba region. In 1992 BSP won 9 seats Vidhan Sabha elections.Also BSP won 3 lok sabha seats from Punjab in 1996 general elections and only Garhshanker seat in 1997 Vidhan Sabha elections.
 Communist parties also has some influence in malwa area.


 The Punjab Assembly  consists of 117 MLAs.  Heaed office  at Vidhan Bhavan, Sector 1, Chandigarh which is also known as Secteriate.


Governor of Punjab :-Shivraj V. Patil.

The speaker of Punjab assembly :- Charanjit Singh Atwal

Deputy speaker :- Dinesh Singh

Chief Minister of Punjab:-S. Parkash Singh Badal

Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab :- S. Sukhbir Singh Badal.


The Government of Punjab also known as the State Government of Punjab , or locally as State Government, is the supreme governing authority of the Indian state of Punjab and its 22 districts. It consists of an executive, led by the Governor of Punjab, a judiciary and a legislative branch.

The “e” in e-Governance stands for 'electronic', 'efficient' and 'effective' in terms of outcome of implementation.
Thus, e-Governance is basically associated with carrying out the functions and achieving the results of governance through the utilization of
what has today come to be known as ICT (Information and Communications Technology).

The primary purpose of governance is the welfare of citizens.e-Governance is, in essence, the application of Information and Communications Technology to
government functioning in order to create 'Simple, Moral, Accountable, Responsive and Transparent (SMART) governance

The Rural Development and Panchayats Department are the departments who are responsible for proper implementation of Schemes sponsored by State and Central Government .These Schemes are generally for Poverty alleviation, Employment generation, Sanitation, Capacity Building, Women's social and Economic Empowerments, apart from provision of basic amenities and services. The Purpose of Rural Development and Panchayats Department is to endow with powers and authority as may be necessary to enable them to function as institutions of self Govt. The Panchayat which falls under Rural Development :-

There are total 13 lok sabha seats (parliamentary constituency) in Punjab and elected representative from each seat is called as MP or Member of Parliament.

Parkash Singh Badal from Akali Dal is the current Chief Minister of Punjab, serving his fourth term in the position since 2007. He was President of the Akali Dal from 1996 to 2008.

Badal was born into a family of landowning farmers in what is now western Punjab state and earned a B.A. degree from Forman Christian College in Lahore (now in Pakistan).

Sukhbir Singh Badal Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab since 2009 is the President of the political party Shiromani Akali Dal. He has a vision to see the state of Punjab to become one India's most developed and Progressive State.He is also the president of Sikh political party Shiromani Akali Dal.

Punjabi Popular Videos

Quick Poll

Joomla forms builder by JoomlaShine